TFC #29: Simple & Affordable Cabinetshop Workstations

Add computers in your cabinetshop for less than $400

I’ve had several guys ask me lately what I recommend when setting up computers on the shop floor.

I’ve tried various setups over the years and have recently settled on a solution that is super easy to setup and is very affordable.

Did you know you can put a workstation in your shop for less than $400?

First off, why setup workstations in the shop?

Basically, it gives you a dedicated spot in the shop to access vital information. No more shuffling through piles of paper and squinting at printouts that resemble giant books.

Not only can you easily access the job’s pdf reports, you can also potential put your critical software in the shop so your guys can look up information without coming in to the office every time.

What You Need

Here is list of parts that I recommend. Obviously you can choose your own components also, but this should help you get a good grasp of what you need.

#1 - The Computer

This is the core piece of our setup.

I’ve tried various computers such compact desktops and tiny computers that resemble USB thumb drives. The compact desktops were too bulky and the tiny computers didn’t last long enough in the shop.

Finally, I found Beelink Mini Computers. I’m not affiliated with them in any way and I’m sure there are other brands, but out of the 20-25 that I’ve set up in various places, they work great.

They are only about 5” x 5” so they are very compact, but still big enough to be durable.

They have plenty of USB ports and 2 HDMI ports on them.

You can get cheap computers that start at $125 or you can get more powerful computers that are up to $600.

I honestly like them so much, that I would use one of the higher end versions of these in my personal office. They work slick.

If its a shop computer that is mainly used for opening PDFs and browsing the internet, the cheapest one will be fine.

For this use, lets assume $150

#2 - The Screen

This is one thing that I don’t mind picking the cheapest option.

Any normal monitor or TV will be just fine as long as it is at least 1920×1080 resolution. (most new screens are)

There are things that make screens more expensive such as blue light filters and refresh rates, but they don’t make enough difference to me to justify spending extra money on them.

I normally go on Amazon and find the cheapest screen I can find and it always works just fine.

You need to evaluate what you need from your screen, you might want to get a big TV if people are going to be looking at it from across the room or you might want to get a touch screen if your using it for your labeling software.

If I am buying a normal 27” monitor, I would aim to pay around $150.

#3 - The Parts

To finish up our workstation, I typically get these items:

  • Wireless keyboard and mouse

  • Power strip for power

  • HDMI cable

  • Command strips

  • Zip ties

  • Wall mount

The Total Cost

This will vary depending on your exact choices, but here is rough cost breakdown:

  • Computer - $150

  • Screen - $125

  • Wall mount - $30

  • Wireless keyboard/mouse - $35

  • Power strip - $10

  • HDMI cable - $7

  • Command strips and zip ties -$5

Total cost for each workstation

  • $362

Putting It All Together

Now that you know what parts you need, how does it work?

Again, lots of variables depending on your setup, but here is what I recommend.

  1. Hang wall mount on pole or wall

  2. Mount screen

  3. Velcro mini computer to back of screen

  4. Velcro power strip to back of screen

  5. Plug computer and screen power into power strip

  6. Connect HDMI cable between computer and screen

  7. Clean up cable with zip ties

  8. Find place to put wireless keyboard and mouse

Now you have a perfectly working Windows computer that you can put anywhere in your shop.

This give you a great starting point that you can grow from.

You don’t have to dive into this complex paperless shop in one attempt. Start small, get people used to working on a computer, and build from there.

I made a short YouTube video on this topic a while back that might be useful as well. You can find it here:

I hope this is helpful for anyone thinking about how to get rid of the massive paper trail.

That’s all for this week, thanks for reading. Have a great weekend.
Myron