TFC #08: A Farewell and A New Chapter

The close of one chapter brings on an exciting and new chapter in my life.

Decisions can be very difficult to make.

After 4 ½ years at Cabentry, I have resigned my position. Today is my last day.

I am extremely grateful to Cabentry for the opportunity I was given to help grow and scale the company. I really enjoyed working with our talented team. The process of building a product for our customers was a challenging and rewarding experience. I think we made a pretty valuable product in just a few short years. I wish the Cabentry team the best with their future.

So what’s next?

Great question.

I don’t have the exact answer to it myself yet.

I have always been a jack of all trades and learning new things is one of the most important things to me.

Over the last several years, I have been preparing myself and my mindset to one day be able to support myself because I love the idea of a lifestyle business.

A lifestyle business is essentially a business that consists of me doing more of the things that I find rewarding and less of the things that I don’t enjoy.

I’ve seen plenty of people start businesses and force themselves into owning their own job and I don’t want that for my business.

Obviously this only works if the services and products I provide are valuable to other people and if I stay intentional with my decisions.

The services I plan on offering include:

  • Website design and marketing (I have been doing this for the past 3 years and I enjoy helping small business with this aspect so I will continue doing this.)

  • Google my Business management (I find this to be the most critical part of your online presence and I manage a lot of Business profiles so I plan on continuing to offer this service)

  • Hardware and software consulting (I have also assisted several local businesses with putting together a plan for their new computer hardware and software tools. I love sitting down with someone and talking through what they are looking for and then finding the most appropriate tools for them.)

  • Cabinet Vision consulting (I have helped a lot of cabinet shops with their Cabinet Vision over the years and I enjoy the challenge this brings for me. I plan on continuing to offer my services to cabinet shops on this as well)

  • General technology and business coaching (this is an area I hope to grow in to offering over the next few months and years)

  • Online course creation (I don’t have this yet but this is one of my big goals for the rest of this year is to create a series of online courses so I am not strictly limited to 1 on 1 teaching.

Over the next couple of months, I will be providing a fairly broad scope of services with the intention to slowly narrow down as I learn more about how I can be the most valuable to other people.

A jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one.

At times, I have looked at my jack of all trades skillset as a disadvantage, but going in to my one person business, I think it will be very useful.

Continuing free resources

This newsletter is very enjoyable for me to write and so I will be continuing to offer this as a free resource to hopefully be able to inspire and teach at least one person something that I have learned or am in the process of learning.

I plan to continue creating videos on my YouTube channel, hopefully at a much faster rate now, so be sure to follow along with it.

Thanks

I appreciate all of the feedback and support you all have provided to me so far in my journey and I hope we can continue to build on those relationships in the future!

Thank you all and see you next week.

P.S. My contact email is now [email protected] so please update that in your systems instead of my Cabentry email.