TFC #46: A Year In Reflection

46 TFC articles later

January 13, 2023, one year ago. I wrote my first article for Tech-Forward Cabinetmaker.

I sent it to 20 people that I thought might be interested in reading it.

I remember thinking when I was writing this first article, how am I possibly going to come up with new topics every single week.

As it turned out, topics came pretty easily once I got started. As it is with a lot of things, getting started is often the hardest part.

I did miss a few weeks over the past year, but I was able to write 45 out of the 52 weeks.

Beehiiv, the software I use to write my newsletters just gave me a popup that said I wrote 40,000 words this year.

Hopefully, a least a small percentage of those words were useful. 😁

I want to say a special thanks to those of you who have been reading from the beginning and also thanks to those who have joined in recent months. I am honored.

To look back over a year of articles, here are some of my favorites.

I like this one because it was my very first article and it was easy for me to write. Google My Business is one of the most effective ways to get found online. It is wise for people to take advantage of it.

My wife and I love to travel and we are able to do it because of credit card points. I enjoyed writing this article because I basically got to talk about credit card points while still trying to educate you on the best practices of accepting credit cards.

I received a lot of feedback from this article and this is something I still think about a lot on a regular basis. There has to be a smarter way than everyone spending hours of time and thousands of dollars trying to replicate essentially the same thing….if only…

This article was timely because a lot of people was asking me my opinion on the idea of outsourcing at this time. As a shop gets bigger, its a good idea to bring more things in house, but for a lot of people, outsourcing is a good way to grow.

This is one of my favorite articles and is crucial for every business to understand, including my own business.

This article was a fun parallel between golf and cabinets that focuses on how some people can charge more for practically the same thing.

A lot has changed for me in the last year as I am sure it has for you too.

Some of the big things for me in 2023 were:

  • leaving my full time job

  • starting my own consulting business, Cabinet Explore

  • taking a serious interest in creating content for cabinetmakers

  • hiring one of my best friends, Shannon Fleagle, to give me a hand with my new business

  • starting an online store for easy Cabinet Vision package downloads

  • making slow and methodical progress and on my Cabinet Vision course that I announced way to early 🤣🤣 

I certainly plan to continue to create more content for you all in 2024.

I would love to hear from you.

Which articles did you enjoy?

What would you like to hear more about?

What are some things you have learned this year in your shop?

What are you hoping to learn more about this year?