TFC #40: The Unseen Power of Gratitude

Fuel an atmosphere of working together by expressing gratitude.

After three weeks of traveling to different places and visiting a few shops, it’s good to be back home. I intended to get more guest articles scheduled in mid-November, but I didn’t get everything in place in time. Nonetheless, you’re back to hearing from me this week.

First off, random life update.

I turned 28 yesterday.

Birthdays are always good times to look back and reflect on the previous year and think about what’s ahead.

A lot has changed for me in the last year.

Last November, I was working at Cabentry trying to figure out which product features to add and how to sell software to cabinetmakers.

Now, I’m trying to figure out how to run a business, create helpful content to educate cabinetmakers, and positively impact the people I interact with throughout the day.

Thinking back over the past year, I’m incredibly grateful for the people in my life.

  • First and foremost, Jesus, for absolutely everything. He has transformed my life and given me hope and joy that I want others to find.

  • My amazing wife, Brianna, for being an unwavering pillar in my life and making our lives joyful.

  • Heath, for mentoring me spiritually from a teenager to working side by side as youth leaders at our church.

  • Roman, for putting confidence in me and giving me time and opportunity to develop my skillset in Cabinet Vision and CNC manufacturing.

  • Brent, for believing in me, pushing me to become more, and teaching me so much about running a business.

  • Glenn, for being a trustworthy friend who is willing to tell me the truth whenever we have conversations.

  • and so many more.

If you’re still reading to see how this is all relevant, great. Thanks for sticking with me.

Here is how it applies.

It is so easy to get consumed by the pursuit of milestones in business.

  • Reaching a certain revenue goal

  • Building a specific number of cabinets

  • Reducing mistakes

  • Cutting production costs

  • Entering new markets

  • Developing a new cabinet line

  • Adding new machinery

  • Implementing new software

  • etc……

All of these things are good and important.

But don’t forget to be grateful.

Gratitude will make your team feel acknowledged, valued, and inherently motivated.

It’s not just a “nice thing to do” to recognize the contribution of others.

Gratitude is incredibly powerful.

It forges deeper connections, builds loyalty, and fuels an atmosphere of working together.

Think about where you were a year ago as a business, or three years ago, or ten years ago.

How many “milestones” have you hit over the past few years?

Take a moment to reflect on the growth that has happened and how the people around you have been responsible for that growth.

Don’t stop with just thinking about it, go tell someone you are grateful for them.

Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.

William Arthur Ward

Thanks for reading,
Myron