TFC #18: Should Speed Trump Everything?

Re-focus your attention on what your customers want.

In today's increasingly competitive landscape, we have lost sight of the true essence of serving our customers, focusing solely on serving as many customers as possible.

Every decision is about speed.

How can I quote jobs faster?

How can I get a signed contract faster?

How can build drawer boxes faster?

How can I create cutlists faster?

How can I get my CNC to cutout parts faster?

How can I install cabinets faster?

How can I build more cabinets this month?

When is the last time you made a decision that you knew would take more time but you did it because you knew it would make your customers happy?

In the pursuit of speed, we shouldn’t forget the essence of business: to serve and delight our customers. For it is their satisfaction, not our haste, that produces long-term success.

I’m a big fan of finding ways to be more efficient and improving the speed of certain tasks, but let’s be careful not to let speed be the deciding factor in every business decision.

I’ve been going to a small barber shop close to my house for the past several years. It’s one of those old barber shops with the spinning barber pole outside the door. When you walk in the door, it’s like going back in time. There are a few old antiques and a bunch of railroad-themed decorations.

There is no fancy booking app, no website, and no great way to find much information online. You just come in, find a seat on one of the chairs and read the local newspaper until it’s your turn.

Finally, I head up to the barber chair and tell the barber how I want my hair cut today. The barber is an older man who does a lot of his work with scissors and a straight-blade razor. I always look forward to the hot shave gel and the straight-blade shave.

It’s such a great atmosphere and I appreciate the service I receive there.

One day when we were talking while I was getting a haircut, I asked him if it wouldn’t be easier for him to set up an app or something to accept appointments.

He told me that yes, it would certainly be a lot easier for him, but he didn’t want to do that because he wanted to keep things the way they are for his customers. He knew his customers appreciated the simple and old-fashioned way of operating.

I’m not suggesting that get rid of all the new technology in your shop and go back to the old hand planers.

No, I’m simply suggesting that you re-focus your attention on what your customers want.

While speed is an important factor in a lot of decisions, don’t let it trick you into thinking it’s always the most important.

Here is a challenge for you this week.

Find a way to add an unexpected surprise to create a memorable experience for the customer. This could include small complimentary accessories, personalized details, or even a handwritten thank-you note expressing appreciation for their business.

Every shop has a unique way of serving their customer. Find yours, and stick to it.

Until next week, happy serving.

Myron